#Inworldz thinking Breast Cancer and Terraforming

This month marks the one year anniversary for my mother being diagnosed with Breast Cancer. Not sure what I’ll do for the fall time yet, but I do need to work on Dee’s Designs. It’s named after my mother and intended to promote breast cancer awareness. Yet, I’ve been so preoccupied I really only just have some products in it and not much guidance. I shall need to work on that.

Chloe has the oyos Breast Cancer horse and has bred the crap out of it. LOL She’s got a lot of eyes. And a few match my current oyos breeding program well, so thought adding one in for my mom’s store would be a good idea. If my pegasus pair sells I may have to choose between more starters or getting another to go with it.

The new mascot for the breast cancer awareness store, featuring the pink ribbon eyes. I named her Dee after my mom.

The new mascot for the breast cancer awareness store, featuring the pink ribbon eyes. I named her Dee after my mom.

I’ve started my 2X2 and today’s plans away from home were cancelled. I’m so thrilled! I get to play!

The first sim for the Kaedara region to be worked on is Enchanted Isles.

In my series, the continent name is Kaedara. Supposed to be South Kaedara but I made a change recently. Books far in the future will deal with the continent to the north of this one and if I name it South Kaedara that sort of limits me to naming the other one North Kaedara. I may not want to, so just going with Kaedara leaves my options open.

The Enchanted Isles is an island country on the southern side of the continent. This is where a civilization I created called Myads live. They’re descended from Dryads. Very human like, yet their skin and hair reflects their special nature. Myads are either Tree Servers or Stone Servers. The island designs will reflect this, of course. Lots of rock and lots of trees.

The ground level will not use a lot of prims, so Enchanted Isles is the sim which also houses the very high up oyos horses sky box. I’ve been stressing Dunvalos Reach out a bit in scripts, if not prims, so I moved most of the breeding age horses that aren’t for sale to Enchanted Isles.

Tests were interesting. Flying around on the skybox I got 90 fps. Ping sim kind of higher than I like, but didn’t seem like something I could control at the time and just have to deal with it. When I set the textures up for the skybox, fps lowered to about 70-80. I contribute that to having to use larger images there. Then when I stood and walked on the skybox it lowered further to 20-25  fps.

Not surprising. One of the biggest lag factors we faced in SL was walking on prims, due to how the computer communicates. Especially mega prims. Most lag conscious builders will use all 10X10s to make the floors. My skybox is with 128X128 sections. At some point I may recreate it out of 10X10s and see what the difference is.

For now I’ve tried one thing with my oyos horses. I rezed 10X10 platforms for them that don’t touch the main floor and have them on those. Food and the servers too. Not sure if that makes a difference but I’m hoping it does help. I also decided not to decor the skybox to keep things down as much as possible and keep both horses and sim as healthy as I can.

At ground level, my fps seems to bounce from 15-30 fps. Not great, considering it’s empty, but this is on my pc that needs replacing. Cool VL viewer. Will test with Firestorm’s new update when I can too. And with the ultra gamer laptop. Which may be interesting, as hubby just updated it to windows 10.  I love the Inworldz viewer but gave up on it. Got tired of issues and crashing.

The results of first terraforming with the Enchanted Isles sim.

The results of first terraforming with the Enchanted Isles sim.

With the ground level terraforming, I’ve noticed one big thing. Terraforming in Inworldz on private island versus terraforming in Second Life on private island is a whole lot more fun.  It’s a lot easier and smoother to get the results you’re going for.

Not sure if the textures will stay as I have them though. I have dolphins in the cove, so I went with two layers of sand and then two layers of grass. May experiment with different ones until I get the look I want.

I’ll try to keep up with the updates as I can this week. We have two family reunions to prepare for and be gone for over next weekend, so not positive how much I can get done this week. Besides going nuts on the 8 hour drive because I would ratherbe building Inworldz. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

