A little About me..Inworldz and life…

In some ways my inworldz character is totally me, in other ways she’s my opposite.

I’m a complete introvert who likes and cares about people. But hang out mostly with the characters in my own head.  In virtual worlds I’m a bit more sociable, but still not very comfortable at times. Only with very close people do I become comfortable chatting with a lot. Thus, parties are not my thing…not even sure how great a hostess I’ll make for my own sim.

And forget about voice chat. Hate it. I only enjoy it when there’s one speaker only, such as in auctions. In RL, I detest speaking on the phone. Always have. Only one I manage to talk to is my mother. Not even my dad…he’s the same as I am when it comes to talking on the phone.

I love animals and can be close to around them all the time. No, I’m not a furry in virtual world and I’m not into “animal love” in RL. In virtual worlds, I like breedables and having the non-breeding ones around.

In RL, I’m a professional marketing consultant. In virtual worlds, I’ve found I don’t like the selling game as much. And I detest being contacted for sales. I tend to get very rude about them. I do watch ad groups to know where to get the things I want, and I do shop.  And when I do sell something, I tend to pay it forward by going to support another creator or breeder. I don’t make money at my virtual world businesses for the real world.

In RL, I only shop at Maurices for clothes, so I’m used to fairly nice clothes. But I don’t have a closet full of clothes, and I own two pairs of boots and a pair of tennies. That’s it. I’m a midwestern farm girl. Clothes were functional growing up, not an extravagance…that was the barn. 🙂  In virtual worlds, I tend to choose a signature outfit and stay with it. I’m definitely not a clothes shopper. But textures…oiy…don’t get me started on those.

I’m a Christian, but understand we all have our own choices to make, and I respect those choices. I have friends of all faiths and lifestyles. And I’m okay with that. And the ones who are truly my friends are okay with my choices.  I expect the same in virtual worlds. I don’t roleplay in world, just in my novels.

In this light, it’s probably a good thing I’m quiet and don’t do small talk. I’m clumsy with my mouth sometimes. What sounds perfectly okay and acceptable to me, can come out politically incorrect and insulting to others. I’m not politically correct and I did not mean it the way it was taken, I assure you.

Luckily, I don’t get into this situation often, and it’s been a long time since it has.  I do have my moments though when I get with company I’ve grown very familiar with and take on a “speaking role”. One such occasion resulted in another resident contacting me privately to reveal he was a writer too and wanted to collaborate on a humorous writing project. I had to turn it down, but it perked me up.

I don’t do small talk, but I can write hundreds of pages.   Due to my clumsy mouth, the ability to edit my words is very helpful.

Should I have a full sim and be “hostess” for it? Maybe. Maybe not. I’m not new to this, I’ve done it for years in Second Life. Ran rentals, ran sims. Did okay. People liked it and they liked dealing with me. Even hosted a few writers meetups and did okay there. I make up for what I lack in being a hostess by trying to make special gifts for attendees.

I think one thing that helps me is that I don’t put up with BS. Act rude on my sim, you’re ejected and banned. Lie to me and give me and my visitors a line of BS and you’ll face the same thing. I give warnings. And luckily, most people are nice enough to not get out of line and force my hand. The worse I’ve had to deal with is having an unwanted streaker trying to woo people during events.

I take the enjoyment and safety of my visitors very serious. And I insist on PG content and behavior on my sims. To be honest, I’m slightly nervous about this Inworldz. In SL when I managed sims I had the sims under the service of the SL Police Force. I knew I had help there. Inworldz is like starting over fresh for me in this light.

But I suspect it will be a good thing.

Just me chilling by myself. I like short moments of being social with someone but then have to separate myself and recharge.

Just me chilling by myself. I like short moments of being social with someone but then have to separate myself and recharge.

I'm a writer of many sorts in Real Life. These three books are some of the next to come out from me...26 in the works so far.

I’m a writer of many sorts in Real Life. These three books are some of the next to come out from me…26 in the works so far.

I also publish other people. (No openings for quite some years.) These two books are the first from our latest series.

I also publish other people. (No openings for quite some years.) These two books are the first from our latest series.

Elpis is what I call my roleplay character. She's from Mystonline.com and she's in Second Life. This is the first book of her roleplay.

Elpis is what I call my roleplay character. She’s from Mystonline.com and she’s in Second Life. This is the first book of her roleplay.

I like butterflies and ravens.

I like butterflies and ravens.

 

References:

Pictures are taken on Dunvalos Reach, a sim I’m working on in Inworldz. I hope to have pieces of it available to the public in a month or less. Marion Margaret Press parcel is nearly finished and it’s grand opening will be the first event there. Probably a full day where I or my sim partner can be in to greet and just get to to know other residents of Inworldz.

The books run through Marion Margaret Press.  (Yes, I know the website is a little behind. I’m currently resizing cover textures to make them more friendly for multiple browsers.)

Introductions and news of my writings can be found through my author website at Serenity Myst.

My building avi doesn’t accept friendships. My writing/publishing avi will. Marion Margaret is the name to search for. Friendship requests are welcome for other writers and publishers to that avi.

For all others, there’s the group called Marion Margaret Press that’s free to join. News of the sim and publishing company will be posted there. Limited spam. Perhaps I’ll do a once a week newsletter notecard style of notices or biweekly. Still to be determined.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

